

Annual Meeting to Open in Memphis Next Week

VERYTHING is in readiness in Memphis for the 49th annual meeting of the American Oil Chemists' Society, April 21–23, 1958, at the Peabody hotel, according to Allen Smith, Perkins Oil Company, who is general chairman. The opening event, on Sunday evening, the 20th, will be a mixer sponsored by the Woodson-Tenent Laboratories.

On Monday the morning will be devoted to the presidential address by H. C. Black, annual reports by officers and committee chairmen, and announcement of the mail election of officers for 1958-59; the afternoon to the annual golf tournament at the Chickasaw Country club or to a plant trip; and the evening to a cocktail party sponsored by the HumKo Company, followed by a buffet supper and entertainment. Also, the Past Presidents' dinner will be held Monday evening at the home of Mr. and Mrs. J. R. Mays Jr., assisted by Mrs. G. W. Agee.

Tuesday will be devoted to technical papers, and the banquet will be held in the evening, with Don Reid's orchestra. On Wednesday there will be more technical papers and the annual awards luncheon for the Smalley and golf prizes. The Paquin key, annually given to the outgoing president of the Society in accordance with the trust fund established by the first president, the late Felix Paquin of Galveston, Tex., will be bestowed at the banquet.

The ladies will have their own program of entertainment: a boat trip on the Memphis Queen on the Mississippi river on Monday, fashion show and luncheon at the Ridgeway Country club on Tuesday. They are also invited to the annual pilgrimage of the Memphis Garden club, April 19-20, and to the Shakespeare Festival, April 22-26.

There will be many committee meetings, also two meetings of the Governing Board. The outgoing board will meet Sunday with Dr. Black presiding; the incoming board will meet at the close of the technical session Wednesday, with J. C. Konen presiding. Dr. Black will also preside at the annual business session on Wednesday afternoon.

July 15 Is Deadline for Fatty Acid Mss.

DEADLINE of July 15, 1958, has been set for the submission of manuscripts in the fourth annual competition for the \$500 award given by the Fatty Acid Producers Council of the Association of American Soap and Glycerine Producers Inc. for the best manuscript on fatty acid chemistry. The award is administered by the American Oil Chemists' Society through a special committee headed by C. W. Hoerr, Armour and Company, Chicago. Announcement of the winner(s) will be made during the fall meeting of the Society, October 20-22, at the Hotel Sherman in Chicago.

The award is to be given for work done in an educational institution in the United States or Canada while the individual is a candidate for a degree (bachelor, master, or doctor) or on the staff of an educational institution within one year after receipt of such a degree. Submission of a paper or thesis may take place within one year after the author is graduated. In respect to team authorship, at least one of the candidates must meet the requirements as set forth above, in which event the entire team shall be considered eligible for the award.

New Members .

Alfred Eugene Blankenship, chemist, Wesson Oil and Snowdrift Company Inc., New Orleans, La.

Oliver J. Bolduc Jr., chief process engineer, Davidson-Kennedy Associates Company, Chicago Heights, Ill. Albert F. Chadwich, supervisor, E. I. du Pont de Nem-

ours and Company Inc., Niagara Falls, N. Y.
James J. Chap, chief, Food and Drug Section, Organic
Division, U. S. Customs Laboratory, New York, N. Y. Robert E. Connolly, chemist, Product Development, Airkem Inc., New York, N. Y.

John B. Covell, junior scientist, Hormel Institute, University of Minnesota, Austin, Minn.

Raymond Charles Crippen, director, Crippen and Erlich Laboratories Inc., Division of Foster D. Snell Inc., Baltimore, Md.

Joseph De Tommaso, senior detergent control chemist, Lever Brothers Company, Edgewater, N. J.

Isaac Young East, special assignment, International Paper Company, New York, N. Y.

G. M. M. Houben, chief chemist, Gouda-Apollo, Gouda, Holland

John S. Miller Jr., refinery superintendent, Wesson Oil and Snowdrift Company Inc., Memphis, Tenn. Cleveland Noel, chemist, The C. F. Sauer Company, Rich-

mond, Va.

Everett H. Pryde, principal chemist, Northern Utilization Research and Development Division, Peoria, Ill.

William T. Schaefer, technical associate and chief chemist, Shortening Corporation of America, Jersey City,

Paul Karl Stumpf, professor of plant biochemistry; chairman of Department, University of California, Berkeley, Calif.

Frederick G. Villaume, chemist, Technical Service, American Cyanamid Company, Bound Brook, N. J.

A. William Ward Jr., assistant superintendent, Chicago Refinery, Armour and Company, Chicago, Ill.

Henry Watanabe, research chemist, Continental Oil Company, Ponca City, Okla.

John C. Watts Jr., research chemist, Lever Brothers Company, Edgewater, N. J.

Robert S. White, production manager, Soybean Division, Archer-Daniels-Midland Company, Decatur, Ill.

Individual Associate

Loren Hammack, district manager, Precision Scientific Company, Houston, Tex.

William Jay Johnson, chemist, C & T Refinery Inc., Charlotte, N. C.

John Daniel McKinney, chemist, Ranchers Cotton Oil Company, Fresno, Calif.

Donald Joseph Tucek, organic chemist, Armour Chemical Division, McCook, Ill.

Woodrow Wilson Turner Jr., chemist, Ranchers Cotton Oil Company, Fresno, Calif.

Corporation Associate

Nippon Yuryo Kentei Kyokai, Japan Oilstuff Inspectors Corporation, Toyozo Kikuchi, representative, Kobe, Japan

FOOD AND DRUG RESEARCH LABORATORIES INC. has moved to Maurice avenue at 58th street, Maspeth 78, New York City, where a community ballroom has been converted into a research center nearly three times as large as the firm's former quarters.

Engineering design contracts for another expansion of Texas Eastman Company's polyethylene plant at Longview have been awarded to the GIRDLER CONSTRUCTION DIVISION of National Cylinder Gas Company, Louisville, Ky.